Skip to Content

Welcome to Creative Computing 2011!

« Creative Computing 2011
94 replies [Last post]
Karen Brennan

Dear Creative Computing 2011 Educators,

We're thrilled that you're able to join us here at the MIT Media Lab for this four-day workshop. 395 educators applied for the only 40 positions we had available, so we're going to do everything we can to share what we're doing on ScratchEd.

The prompt for this first session's reflection is:

What do you hope to accomplish during your Creative Computing workshop experience?

Sincerely,
Karen, on behalf of the Creative Computing organizing team

Replies
Julianne Ross-Kleinmann

@ Larry and Sarah....what is a PicoBoard? I am going to have to look that up.

Thelma Thompson

Eric I think it's great that you want to share Scratch with your students. Elementary students will love it!

Ernest Dodson

Better late than, I always say. I am still new to scratch but I think I am going to use it to help me create a project on 'Goal Setting and Self-Esteem. I have developed a whole program that is related to this issue. I will try to keep up with the rest of the class:-)

Andrea Plate

Now that we're on the last day...has this idea become clearer to you?  If so, what do you have in mind?

Joe Roche

You are too humble. My expectations for you are high!

Eleanor Cerny

Ernest, Your project is intriguing "Goal Setting and Self-Esteem" with elementary school. I would be interested in how you would incorporate Scratch. Would you use social interaction behaviors (facial queues, body language, etc)?

Thanks, Eleanor

Andrea Plate

I'm very interested in hearing about your idea...my school has an advisory period built into the schedule (7/8 grade) and I want to make the time COUNT. 

Gilberto Sosa

I would like to learn what other teacher are doing in scratch so that I may improve my portfolio.

Eric Anderson

Exactly, hearing what others are creating, will most likely trigger some of my own ideas.

Ryan Evans

Hi Gilberto,