Skip to Content

Massachusetts Draft Standards for Digital Literacy and Computer Science

« Computer Science Education
No replies
ScratchEd Team
The Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education has released a draft of the Digital Literacy and Computer Science Standards (DL&CS). These draft standards will be released for public comment in January.
Four features distinguish the draft DL&CS Standards: 
  1. The DL&CS Standards are organized into four strands: Computing and Society, Digital Tools and Collaboration, Computing Systems, and Computational Thinking.
  2. The DL&CS Standards progress coherently from grades K to 12.
    The standards emphasize a focused and coherent progression of knowledge and skills. As students progress through their K-12 education, they acquire increasingly sophisticated knowledge, skills, and dispositions in digital literacy and computer science.
  3. The DL&CS Standards articulate practices necessary for success.
    The practices cultivate the internalization of dispositions that skillful people in digital literacy and computer science apply in reasoning, creation, and problem solving. Practices speak to the types of performance students should be able to demonstrate.
  4. The DL&CS Standards complement other Massachusetts Curriculum Frameworks.
    The curriculum frameworks and DL&CS Standards overlap in meaningful and substantive ways and offer an opportunity for all students to better apply and learn digital literacy and computer science. Much of the knowledge, skills, and dispositions central to digital literacy and computer science, such as computational thinking, also apply to other subjects, including, but not limited to, science, technology and engineering and mathematics.
You can download the standards on the Massachusetts DESE page.