Skip to Content

Building Learning Communities | July 27, 2009

« Events
4 replies [Last post]
Karen Brennan

We're happy to be hosting two pre-conference workshops for this year's November Learning conference.

From 8:30 to 12:30, there's an introductory Scratch workshop and, from 1:30 to 5:30, there's a workshop about ScratchEd.

If you've registered to attend either of these workshops, we'd love to hear from you! What prompted you to participate? What do you hope to get out of the experience?

Replies
Jennifer Garcia

My name is Jennifer Garcia. I am a Canadian teacher who has been working in El Salvador for the last 13 years. I currently teach ICT as well as run the new Learning Resources Centre. This past year our staff and students have taken to digital projects in a big way and we hope to continue expanding our digital toolboxes.

I first became interested in Scratch about a year ago when I received information about it in an email. Unfortunately, I never got much further than downloading the software. This coming school year we are hoping to make Scratch a part of our ICT curriculum in at least one grade from 6th to 8th, and later bring it into other grades in the school.

I really look forward to learning how to use Scratch myself as well as gain a better idea of how to use it with students to enhance their learning.

Our school is very excited about the prospect of bringing Scratch in and I am hopeful that these two workshops will help us to do it really well.

Cindy Brock

I work with grades 1st, 2nd, and 3rd at an all boy school in Memphis, TN. I help integrate technology into the classroom every day. I also work with teachers to give them ideas and lessons to use with their students. 

I used Scratch with 3rd graders this past year as an introduction to it for me and the students.  They loved it, the teacher loved it, and I loved it.